Broke Gmoccapy trying to enable Tool Measurement

More
03 Apr 2016 16:21 #72630 by Quasirobo
Greetings!

I'm new to CNC, LinuxCNC, and Gmoccapy, and loving it. Really impressive stuff! My background is mainly in electronics, though I have experience in making mechanical prototypes for R&D as well.

To my darling new Taig mill I've added a PWM/Tachometer spindle (tach hooked to controller, open loop to LinuxCNC), and 2 limit switches per X, Y, and Z axis. I also have a 4th axis in my configuration, though I haven't used it because of a motor controller issue, soon to be resolved.

Gmoccapy (great interface, by the way) had seemed to be working well; the limit/home switches and spindle were working properly, I was able to jog the axes and it was accepting G code commands.

I added a touch-off sensor for the z-axis tool measurement, and attempted to enable the Tool Measurement functionality of Gmoccapy. Now, when I try to start LinuxCNC, the LinuxCNC logo is displayed, the Gmoccapy screen without any buttons is displayed for several seconds, then a LinuxCNC Errors report is generated.

I have gone through the documentation at length and read through many posts, but no luck. I'm learning a lot which is partly the point, but I'm also about ready to have a working machine! I've been staring at it too long so it's time to ask for help, and thanks in advance to anyone who will oblige. Please refer to the attached LinuxCNC file (with Configs, etc), and Error Report.

I realize that the orientation of my Z axis should be reversed (the DRO goes positive as it travels down, it should go negative), but the machine was functional and I'm hesitant to change it until I can verify that it's been done correctly.

Oliver

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Apr 2016 17:23 #72633 by newbynobi
Hallo Oliver,

we will not be able to help you to solve the error, as we do not know what error is reported.