CNC plazma Microstep - retrofit

More
23 Mar 2018 12:03 #107751 by r4cv
Hi, I would like to share my problems and achievements with the conversion of my plasma.

with plasma cutting I have more than 20 years of experience, I know how it works.
only the iron remains from the original machine, the whole drive and the system will be new.

I have 3 axes with 4 motors. X1 X2 Y Z. I use AC servomotors with resolver, the servodriver emulates the encoder. I use speed control + -10V

the system is pidicnc + servocard + IO card.
The servo card has 4 analogue outputs, 4 encoder inputs and 1 AD converter. this all works well.
I use Gmoccapy1.5.5.4 as a GUI. the movement of the table is set and works well.

now I'm working on THC.
problem can be split up
-connecting the arc source (done)
-plate height measurement - probe (hardware is ready)
-checking the height of the burner during piercing and cutting: HW is ready, HAL file created

I have start with component offset. PID compare plasma.target-voltage and arc.voltage (ADconvert input). PID output moves with Z motor as needed to have the arc of the required voltage. MUX2 is for switch from start height to cutting height.

after few problems:
I've added verification of setvolt and cutvolt signals (e.g. setvolt after start is 0)
I've added ON-OFF switch for THC and led (plasma.thc-led).
I've added led cnotrol of THC run correctly (THC is ON, setvolt and curvolt are OK)
If i switch THC OFF, heigh is not controlled by voltage, but after start drops down to the set height plasma.cut-gap.

with this HAL I have problem with SW limits. I dont now how I can set limits for LIMIT1.0
the real travel of Z-axis is min=-100, max=0
it is possible to make the limit AXIS_Z.MIN_limit + the home sw position?
If I start machine, the position of AXIS.Z.cmd=0. when is homed, AXIS.Z.cmd=e.g.40 (I started from a height of 40 under homeSW)
I need set min limit(-100+e.g.40) and max limit (0+e.g.40)
Attachments: