Another Valid Arc Lost Post

More
09 May 2020 06:14 #167101 by PurduePete
I am still pretty new to this particular software, so bare with me. I'm shifting over from Mach3.

I finally got my system up and running. Motion is pretty solid for the most part, little servo tuning still required but over all happy. I've got a Mesa 7i76e and THCAD-10. I've got the numbers in the config setup and it looks like the voltage being read is good. But I have an issue when I go to run a program. The arc does not read ok some of the time. Probably 3 out of 5 pierces it fails. And it sometimes doesn't even visibly strike the arc at all if the air is still on but still throw the error. My mode is set to 0, as I would like to use the arc voltage present as the arc ok signal as well. I have a reason for this! My Hypertherm 45xp is off my old table. It is an awesome cutter but has always had a delay in the arc coming on. This played havoc with my last machine. Was hoping that PlasmaC could compensate for the delay a bit better so that I could do better with thicker plate.

I've found a few posts and have compiled a list of things to try but thought it might be best to ask some questions.
Debounce
Would debounce setup on this signal potentially help? If so, could someone point me in the right direction to learn more about the right way to write this out?
Delay Timer
If there a timer that could be added to perhaps increase the amount of time the system looks for arc ok? Maybe increase it from .5s to 1s. I bring this one up because of a post I saw from Tommy about a timer of .5s being plenty. My machine actually seems to be closer to .6-.8s based on increases in pierce delays on my last machine.

Some other things I was going to try is setting the THC delay to .1 seconds. I saw this as a recommendation from Tommy as well.
It was suggested somewhere by rodw to bypass this issue by wiring the arc-ok signal, which I will do if required.
Check to make sure the system is up to date.