The importance of "cut rules"

More
07 Sep 2020 23:10 #181192 by CBEAR
I know that a few people on the forum are more into cnc plasma because they like to tinker, or are in it for a hobby like 3d printing, so I figured that I'd share some fine tuning tips. While it is something that you may figure out on your own as you go, I figured I'd share my experience because it's an area where I've already been there, and done that. I may not be the most tech savvy person in the world, but I'd like to at least contribute what I can when I can. I've been using a cnc plasma table for my business for a few years now. My old machine had a Miller plasma cutter so I didn't get book speeds and thc readings like I do with my current hypertherm. I had to teach myself EVERYTHING by trial and error(this ended up teaching me a lot in the long run). I ended up with a new material process that allowed me to dial in a new material in less than 5 minutes with good results (this took me hours for each material when I first started out). I have spent countless hours studying and experimenting with different variables in the plasma cutting process to produce the best possible cut quality that my machine is capable of. One thing that makes a huge difference is the ability to write cut rules. My old machine ran on Mach 3 which cut rules would not work for since the thc wasn't integrated into the software. This was one of the main reasons that I built my new machine and went with Linux. I should add, that my experience with plasma isn't one of a hobby, but for my business. I have countless hours running the machine and I would like to think that I have a pretty good knowledge of the process. I was able to, very successfully, cut anything from .060 Al to 7/8" steel with my little 40 amp Miller on my old machine which was only capable of 170ipm maximum (ballscrew machine). I'm just getting started with my hypertherm so it will take me a little while to get the machine dialed in. I wanted to show a s