Runaway torch THCAD-10 + PlasmaC + Hypertherm 45XP

More
09 Nov 2020 12:57 #188739 by radek_marko
Hi,
I have an issue with recently installed THCAD-10.

During the cut, the torch is moving higher and higher and eventually stops cutting and just blows a bit of material from the top surface.
The result of the cut from the video is attached below.
I'm totally new to this and not even know where to start the investigation. I suspect that the system thinks that the voltage is incorrect an tries to compensate by moving the torch.

I've used 3mm steel, according to Hypertherm manual I should have 117V on the arc, I'm using 1:20 divider and THCAD with 1:64 divider, config attached (

File Attachment:

File Name: PlasmaCcon...1-09.zip
File Size:11 KB
).

Some cuts from the same settings are fine, so I do not know why it does work on some cuts and does not on other.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
09 Nov 2020 13:15 #188742 by snowgoer540
Looks to me like one possibility is that you're cutting too fast, and then the voltage goes up once it stops blowing the material through and the torch raises to compensate.

Another thing I (and probably everyone here) would tell you to do is to use "auto volts" instead of the specified voltage in the Hypertherm manual. You have no easy way of verifying that you are cutting the exact same type of material, under the exact same conditions, and that your THCAD is calibrated the same way to match the way Hypertherm took the voltage readings. Fortunately, Phill made it easy, and PlasmaC has the option to sample the voltage after the THC becomes active, and then shoot to maintain that voltage throughout the cut. If you're cutting height is 1.5mm, and the voltage is say 125v for your system instead of the Hypertherm value of 117v, in the end you don't really care, so long as you're cutting at 1.5mm. Make sense? Auto volts lets you achieve that without all the fancy testing.