QtplasmaC- actualization error

More
18 May 2022 14:35 #243273 by Marçal
QtplasmaC was created by Marçal
I have a 3 axis-machine with a mesa 5i25+7i77+7i78. We also have a Hypertherm Powermax45. We bought two THCAD5 one for the THC and the other one for ohmic sensing. I have two issues. One the one hand, I tried to use PlasmaC and it does not work. I am a beginner in electronics so, I might be asking something stupid, sorry about that. I'd like to know if have to update the firmware to use the THCAD5? Moreover, I found out that I should use QtPlamaC instead of PlasmaC. Nonetheless, I am not sure how to install it, I could only find how to update it by writing this on the terminal:
sudo apt update
sudo apt dist-upgrade

Nonetheless, I still cannot find the QtPlasmaC in the PNCconf wizard.
Thank you in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 May 2022 14:49 - 18 May 2022 14:50 #243274 by snowgoer540
Replied by snowgoer540 on topic QtplasmaC
You may find this to be helpful:

forum.linuxcnc.org/9-installing-linuxcnc...red-toward-new-users

It uses QtPlasmaC as the end goal GUI.  Myriad of ways to “get there”, of course this is only one. 
Last edit: 18 May 2022 14:50 by snowgoer540.

More
19 May 2022 10:02 #243329 by Marçal
Replied by Marçal on topic QtplasmaC
Thank you very much for the guide! If I already have Linux and LinuxCNC installed, can I just start from the step 7? Or I have to reinstall Linux and LinuxCNC to be able to use QtplasmaC? Now I am using debian GNU/Linux 9 and my LinuxCNC version is 2.8.2

More
19 May 2022 10:42 - 19 May 2022 17:44 #243331 by snowgoer540
You could try pointing the to the buster repos in the package manager instead of whatever it points to now.

You need to be on LinuxCNC version 2.9 to use QtPlasmaC.  So long as you can fulfill the dependency requirements then I don't see why Debian 9 would be an issue.  
Last edit: 19 May 2022 17:44 by snowgoer540.

More
19 May 2022 14:22 #243344 by Marçal