Custom Kinematics

More
11 May 2012 22:28 - 11 May 2012 23:08 #20022 by tmade
Custom Kinematics was created by tmade
I'm still quite new to linuxcnc, so I am of course going to run into problems.

I am working through a custom setup to get the hang of making non-trivial machines. The machine is similar to the Alex Jony's Tripod , except I am using 4 steppers in a square configuration. In the attached zip is the source for the kinematics called "4pod.c". I am reusing the basic layout and code from Dave381's post . I installed it using "sudo comp --install path/to/4pod.c". There might be problems in the math, but I don't think that matters at this moment. I also only extended the math from the kinematics page .

My hardware is a 5i25 running the 7i76x2 firmware, but I am using 7i75 daughter boards. The guys from Mesa said this would work fine since my end goal is to use steppers. I got pncconf to work using the instructions in post 18554 , but pncconf doesn't seem to work with non-xyz layouts. It will prompt that "You forgot to designate a stepper/pwm for axis x, y, z". My plan to get around this was to make a basic machine configuration in pncconf and then modify the ini and hal files to my liking.

The new 4pod configuration folder is attached in the zip file as well. When it is run using linuxcnc, Axis will show joints 0,1,2,3 in the axis screen, but trying to jog 3 gives "joint 3 following error". When I home all Axis(joints?) and attempt to run the "LinuxCNC Cutout", I get the following errors: Exceeded positive soft limit on joint 3, joint 1,2,3 following errors, and command (EMC_TASK_PLAN_STEP) cannot be executed until the machine is out of E-stop and turned on.

I'm at a loss of where to go from here, any help, or direction, in troubleshooting, would be greatly appreciated. Even some good samples of custom kinematic machines would be helpful.

Thanks!

File Attachment:

File Name: Machine_an...tics.zip
File Size:9 KB