Double X-Axis gantry problems

More
27 Jul 2012 11:04 #22514 by Miselph
Hello all,

My Father and I have recently built a 3 axis router. We have two motors on the X, one on the Y and one on the Z. All four motors are steppers and I am using a MESA 5i25 + 7i76 combo.
We have managed to get all the motors to run independently using an XYZA configuration with the second X on the A axis.
My question is this: How do I get the X-axis to run together and home to two switches to square the gantry?
I have searched like crazy and everyone says "Look at gantrykins" so I did but to be honest I am still quite new to this and it doesn't quite make sense. The best I have managed is to get the two X motors to run together very slowly but if I increase the jog speed then I get joint follow errors.

Please help, I am tearing my hair out here!
I have attached my (much hacked at) configuration file

Thanks

Chris

File Attachment:

File Name: Realistic_V1.zip
File Size:9 KB
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jul 2012 12:22 #22517 by andypugh
Miselph wrote:

I have attached my (much hacked at) configuration file

The stepgens on the paired motors _must_ have the same maxvel and maxacc as each other. (these numbers are in your HAL file, you might want to create a tag in the INI for them, and make both stepgens share the same INI tag.

One non-obvious thing about gantrykins is that after homing you need to press $ to switch to XYZ mde.

More
27 Jul 2012 13:51 #22519 by Miselph
Thanks for the quick reply.
I have now ensured that the acceleration and max velocity settings are consistant but I am still getting joint follow errors.

I can move each motor independently in Joint mode at any jog velocity but in world (XYZ) mode i get errors if I jog faster than about 13mm/min or try and jog repeatedly.