Configuration decisions and tuning

More
12 Mar 2015 03:53 #56713 by sliptonic
I'm in the process of retrofitting an old IBM 7575 SCARA robot. I picked the thing up surplus and it was missing the controller and servo amps which was fine with me.

I've replaced the amps with four AMC 30A8Ts. For control, I'm using a 5i25/7i77 plug-n-go kit. I used this on the retrofit of my milling machine so I'm not completely unfamilar with the configuration and tuning process but I'm not an engineer so forgive me if I ask silly questions. :)

My first point of confusion is whether I should be setting up the amps for voltage or current mode. I assume this is the same as velocity and torque mode respectively. My mill was configured for velocity mode but the motors had tachs and the ones on the robot do not. They're minertia motors RM series.

I have a linuxcnc configuration working with scarakins and I believe I have all the scale values correct now. Other than that, I haven't done anything to tune the servo loops. I can move the arms by hand and see encoder counts changing appropriately. However, when I try to move the joints from linuxcnc, I get following errors even with the FERROR/MIN_FERROR set to an absurdly large numbers.

I'm looking for advice and guidance on how I verify the configuration of the amps and then get ready for the more detailed tuning of the loops.

thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Mar 2015 06:06 #56720 by andypugh

I get following errors even with the FERROR/MIN_FERROR set to an absurdly large numbers.

How absurdly large?

Do the joints work in degrees 0-360 for a full turn, or 0-1 ?

If the encoders are scaled 1:1 then your absurdly large might be nowhere near absurdly large enough :-)

More
12 Mar 2015 06:20 #56721 by sliptonic
O.k. Looking at just one axis,
Machine angular units is set to degrees
The ENCODER_SCALE = -333.333
FERROR is 50000.

More
12 Mar 2015 06:43 #56722 by andypugh