Automatic touchoff of face mill

More
28 Jun 2018 14:51 #112988 by cahlfors
Dear forum,

I am not an expert user, but with the help of the wiki and forum, I have been able to remap M6 to do automatic touchoff quite nicely. Recently, I got a large face mill and this introduces a problem. The touchoff coordinates are fixed and centers the tool over the touchoff button (which is screwed to the table). However, the face mill is hollow in the center. It would need to be positioned a tool radius to the side, in order to measure at the cutting points . How can this be accomplished?

Thanks for any pointers,
/Chrishttps://forum.linuxcnc.org/10-advanced-configuration/topic/create#write

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Jun 2018 16:57 #112999 by Sparky961
Why M6? When I see an M6 in a program, the only thing I expect it to do is change the tool. On a mill that usually includes raising the spindle and whatever automatic mechanisms exist to physically swap out the tool. If you're the only one using the machine then it's not so horrible, but what you're doing certainly strikes me as non-standard and could cause a safety issue if someone isn't expecting it to come down on the touch plate. I'd suggest using a different M-code for your custom functionality.
The following user(s) said Thank You: cahlfors

More
28 Jun 2018 19:43 #113014 by andypugh
If you program in the tool diameter in the tool table then you can make your probe routine offset by one tool radius. This is probably also appropriate for smaller cutters, so doesn't need special handling.

G53 G0 X[100 - #5410] Y100

You could, alternatively, turn on cutter diameter compensation before the move to the probing station.

linuxcnc.org/docs/2.7/html/gcode/overview.html#gcode:parameters

More
29 Jun 2018 08:59 #113068 by cahlfors
Thank you both for valuable input!