× Forum Header

SOLVED: Tuning stepper motor with Gecko 201 driver

More
18 Dec 2013 07:05 - 21 Dec 2013 05:19 #41717 by mtngun
As I mentioned in a previous thread, I'm a LinuxCNC newbie attempting to convert a lathe over from TurboCNC. My X axis has a Gecko 203V drive while the Z runs a 201, and both steppers run satisfactorily in TurboCNC. But the 201 runs terribly rough in LinuxCNC, even after trying many different timing settings.

The 203 loves LinuxCNC, running smoother and faster than it did on TurboCNC, even with less than optimal timing settings. The 203 can't do anything wrong in LinuxCNC, while the 201 can't do anything right. :lol:

So I tried experimenting with a wide range of stepper timing settings in StepConf. It didn't seem to make much difference. For now I settled on Step Time 1000, Step Space 5000, Direction Hold 20000, and Direction Setup 1000.

I tried tweaking the STEPGEN_MAXACCEL and that didn't seem to make much difference, so for now it's set at the default 1.25.

Since the 201 runs fine in TurboCNC but runs like crap in LinuxCNC, I'm going to assume that the hardware is fine and that the fault lies in the LinuxCNC setup.

I'm looking for suggestions of things to try that I haven't already tried. :unsure:
Attachments:
Last edit: 21 Dec 2013 05:19 by mtngun.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Dec 2013 07:37 #41719 by BigJohnT
What might be messing with the 201 is doublestep. I'm not an expert on doublestep.

www.linuxcnc.org/docs/html/hal/parallel_...ml#parport-functions

Does it run rough at all speeds or just in the mid range?

JT
The following user(s) said Thank You: mtngun

More
18 Dec 2013 07:42 #41722 by mtngun

Does it run rough at all speeds or just in the mid range?

At all speeds, to the extent that it has much speed. It sounds like it is grinding gravel. :lol:

More
18 Dec 2013 07:48 #41723 by BigJohnT
Is is possible to replace the 201 with a 203v so all axes have the same performance?