Switch between AXIS tabs with GladeVCP button?

More
27 Jan 2019 17:36 #124978 by pferrick
Hi all-

Now that I've got a halfway-decent looking GladeVCP side panel alongside AXIS, I'm wondering how I might go about switching between AXIS tabs by pressing buttons on my panel. On my screen the AXIS tabs themselves are quite small and not very touch-friendly, which is why I'm hoping to select them another way.

I'm pretty sure that some sort of a bridge between Tk and GTK is involved, but since I am a rank beginner at both I have no clear idea of what it might look like.

Thanks very much.

regards,
Patrick

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Jan 2019 17:38 #125185 by andypugh
I think that sounds hard. Perhaps making the tabs bigger would be easier?

More
29 Jan 2019 18:36 - 29 Jan 2019 18:42 #125191 by BigJohnT
Axis was not designed for a touch screen, Touchy was designed for a touch screen. Axis is a mix of Tcl and Python and not many understand how it works. Axis does use a .axisrc file that will override the Tcl code.

linuxcnc.org/docs/2.7/html/gui/axis.html#_axisrc

And here is the Tcl notebook info, you might get the right command to put in the .axisrc file.

core.tcl.tk/bwidget/doc/bwidget/BWman/NoteBook.html

JT
Last edit: 29 Jan 2019 18:42 by BigJohnT.

More
29 Jan 2019 23:15 #125225 by andypugh

Axis was not designed for a touch screen, Touchy was designed for a touch screen.

As was Gmoccapy, and many folk seem to prefer that to Touchy.
(I like the mandatory physical buttons of Touchy, though the lack of graphical preview is a pity)

More
30 Jan 2019 01:21 #125238 by cmorley
To answer your original question: surely if is possible using the .axisrc option.
BUT it would require someone to dig into AXIS to figure out how to tease out details to change the tabs. Then probably using HAL pins it would be possible.
We call that kinda 'hacky' :)