Can someone help me understand what's on this preview screen?

More
30 May 2022 14:27 #244217 by usert_l
I put an arrow pointing to the circle thingy on my LinuxCNC preview screen. I can see that the circle's center seems to correspond to the G54 X and Z coordinates. What I don't understand is why it's set there (X=0.557 and Z=0.000) and what purpose it serves.

I used Ezilathe to create this g-code program for my lathe. Some screenshots are attached. I'm still very new to this Ezilathe software, and this part is my first trial in learning to use LinuxCNC on a lathe.  
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 May 2022 14:33 #244219 by tommylight
The round thing that looks like the NATO sign?
It shows that there are active offsets, have a read here:
linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gcode/coordinates.html

More
30 May 2022 15:43 #244224 by usert_l
Another note I forgot to mention is my lathe has no physical limit switch for homing. So I set up reasonable travel limits in my ini file. I manually home each axis a safe distance away from the work piece, but not so far away that it would exceed the soft travel limits.

For this kind of set up, is there a particular coordinate system that is most suitable?

More
30 May 2022 17:16 #244231 by tommylight
I had and still maintain machines with no limit switches, once you learn to live with it, it works just fine.
And i use g54 on those, always.
But i have little experience with CNC lathes, so might want to wait for someone more experienced to answer.
The following user(s) said Thank You: usert_l

More
30 May 2022 23:04 #244246 by andypugh

I put an arrow pointing to the circle thingy on my LinuxCNC preview screen. 

After a bit of experimenting, I think that it might be the machine absolute zero. 

More
31 May 2022 01:28 - 31 May 2022 01:29 #244254 by snowgoer540

I put an arrow pointing to the circle thingy on my LinuxCNC preview screen.