Hardinge HC Bandit Retrofit

More
06 Jan 2017 19:13 - 06 Jan 2017 19:45 #85355 by mclausen
I am new to LinuxCNC so pardon if I ask too many questions.
I recently acquired a Hardinge HC with a Bandit CNC control that I want to retrofit to LinuxCNC.
I saw where several people converted HNC and CHNC lathes, but no HC. This machine poses some unique challenges.
It is basically a manual lathe that was converted to CNC and sold by Hasbach. The previous owner bought it as a functioning machine, but let it sit for years without hooking it up. At one point he swapped out the interpolator board with a bad one from one of his Bandit mills.
I got it up and running, and it appears to do everything except simultaneous moves.

Servos:
After much waffling, I think I would like to use the existing motors and amplifiers for cost and time reasons. I have no documentation on them though. The motor labels have been painted over, and any attempt to strip the paint also strips the label. They appear to be brushed DC servos with resolvers and tachometers. The tachometers are wired directly to the amplifiers, and the resolvers wire to the control. The amplifiers are supplied with 65vdc from a massive power supply.
I'm assuming a 7I49 should be able to drive these?
One concern I have is the feeds are not very high. Any feed rates over 60ipm don't go any faster than about 60 (crudely measured by stop watch). It does not give a “feed rate commanded too high” error like it is supposed to. Maybe the missing interpolator board is causing this. At this feed rate the motors are only turning 600RPM, so I assume they can go faster.

Spindle: