5 axis milling

More
19 Dec 2011 15:34 #15839 by gerry
5 axis milling was created by gerry
I am new to linux;
new to emc2 (its running :-));
new to cnc

and I want to build a 5 axis milling machine for gfk prototyping;

i am about to buy 5 servo motors/drives from salecnc.com; can someone help me to find the proper hardware between PC and Drivers?

thanks a lot

Gerry

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Dec 2011 16:01 - 19 Dec 2011 16:13 #15841 by cncbasher
Replied by cncbasher on topic Re:5 axis milling
most servo systems use either analog 10v input or step direction inputs , both can be supported within emc
for a 5 axis servo system , your options are mesanet 5i20 /5i23 or the newer 6i68 along with the addon cards for servo drives etc
( their is the 7i43 but for 5 axis you may well run out of pins , so i discarded this one for clarity )

or PICO PPMC cards both of which are excellent and well supported in EMC2 .

Take a look and ask any more questions
and we can guide you through the maze , and try and make it an easier route

depending on the type of machine you wish to build , or how far you have proceeded
we will try and help

welcome to the world of EMC

Dave
Last edit: 19 Dec 2011 16:13 by cncbasher.

More
20 Dec 2011 08:28 #15885 by gerry
Replied by gerry on topic Re:5 axis milling
I take my inspiration from

so this is the kind of machine I want to build
with x=3000, y=1500, z=1200;

but I want to use Servos from salecnc.com like:
M130075D-1,6KW(for X);
M130060D-1,5KW(for Y+Z) and
M110020E-0,6KW(for A+B);

Static TBI ball screw (25/25) and rotating TBI ball screw nuts;

main strukture: Rose+Krieger havy-load alu-profiles 80/80mm and 80/240mm
Linear rails: from salecnc.com BGR35

water cooled 2,2KW spindle and Inverter from salecnc.com

More
20 Dec 2011 16:13 #15899 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic Re:5 axis milling
gerry wrote:

M130075D-1,6KW(for X);
M130060D-1,5KW(for Y+Z) and
M110020E-0,6KW(for A+B);