New member with questions

More
23 Feb 2016 13:42 #70509 by fivefivesix
Hi everybody,
I am pretty new to CNC, A friend helped me build a cheap engraver out of scrap pieces from work and some cheap Chinese controllers. I have decided build a better machine, I picked up a C10 BOB from CNC4PC and some Centent CN 142 controllers off ebay. Running linuxcnc from an older thinkcenter. It runs my current machine fine. I am not having any luck getting my machine to do anything other then hold, no movement. I think I have the wrong settings in my step config or something that need to be enabled is on on the bob. Followed the instructions on the bob, but not sure on the values to put in for the centent controllers. Anybody have suggestions?

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Feb 2016 14:08 #70510 by andypugh
Replied by andypugh on topic New member with questions
The C10 has an overall enable pin. That needs to be taken high to allow the other pins to operate.
You can jumper it to 5V from the adjacent 5V board supply. (ideally that connection would be through the e-stop circuit and a software-controlled relay)

More
23 Feb 2016 14:36 #70511 by fivefivesix
I have a jumper from the 5v board power to the enable connector. My plan is once it is working to wire the EPO for steppers to the enable.

Even had one of the guys I work with check the card for bad connections and checked the chips for shorts. BoB seems to be in working order. The parallel cable works on the other machine so should be able to eliminate that. I can not hook up the controllers to the other machine to test since the old machine is common as ground and the Centent is +5v for common.

Here is what my tabletop engraver looks like.

More
23 Feb 2016 14:47 #70512 by andypugh
Maybe try inverting the step signals in stepconf?

What step timings did you use?

More
23 Feb 2016 15:14 #70520 by fivefivesix

Maybe try inverting the step signals in stepconf?