Help with Emco Concept Mill 55

More
05 Sep 2018 16:05 #117115 by Harleyvet02
Forewarning: I am just learning about LinuxCNC.
I have some experience with machining and CNC, but have no experience with Linux or LinuxCNC. I have built a MPCNC (Mostly printed CNC) machine running on a Ramps board and using EstlCAM as CAM software Repetierhost as the Gcode sender.

I have a lightly used Concept mill 55. I have a complete machine but no software, and from research the software is dated. I would like to move away from the proprietary hardware and software from EMCO.

I would like to retain the stepper drivers and steppers (they are uncommon 5 wire) and use a mesa board like this person did.
EMCO PC Mill 55 LinuxCNC

I have a Dell desktop (unsure of specs and not with me right now) that I have run LinuxCNC from startup disk with acceptable jitter. I would like to use this as the PC for now and maybe move to an ITX board housed within the mill case in the future.

What Mesa setup would fit this setup the best? I would like to reuse as many of the EMCO components as possible. Any other suggestions would be appreciated. I'm trying to do this on a budget as this will not be a production machine.

Please keep it simple because I'm trying to learn LinuxCNC as fast as I can, but some posts read like a foreign language to me.

Thanks,

George

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
05 Sep 2018 17:08 #117122 by RotarySMP
It would help to provide more information about the Emco Concept mill 55. What sort of interface do those stepper drivers support? Does it have linear encoder closed loop feedback? How is the spindle powered, VFD, DC motor or gear etc.?

Generally it is cheaper to fix the existing control Especially if you are only missing the Software, someone must have the disks for this machine. If you can get the machine working on the original control, it is much easier to plan a retrofit if necessary.
Mark

More