LinuxCNC 2.8 DM542T drivers Mesa 7i96 controller

More
27 Jan 2020 15:08 #155911 by J Crowder
I am trying to configure my control box. I have a SFF computer running Mint 19.2 with the RT kernel that will be in the control box with everything else I am sure this will be the beginning of many questions as I am new to CNC as well as to Linux.

I have tried looking online for a good wiring diagram for the parts that I have. I have come close but everyone use a little something different.

First question: The Mesa 7i96 needs a 5V supply. Can I use a USB port on the computer to provide that? If not, I have unused drive slots that have a 5V and 12V connectors, can I tap into one of those? I did not see what the amp draw is on the Mesa card nor on the DM542T drivers. What is the possibility of malfunctions with the system if I use the computer power?

Second question: Some of the videos that I have watched with the stepper drivers jumper the PUL +5V and the DIR +5V terminals together while others do that but add a 5V power source to one side. Do I need to supply 5V to the driver if I have already wired the 36V power to it? Or is this supplying power back to the 7i96?

Third: The DIP switches came set from stepperonline. It looks like it is set for 1.0 peak and .71 amp RMS, 1/2 current and 8 micro step and 1800 steps/rev (for 1.8 degree motor). I bought the drivers and the motors as a set from stepperonline, How do i figure what those settings should be? I am assuming that they set it for the motors that I received.

I have included a picture of the grid with everything mounted to it. I will build the box around the grid so I can add a fan and filter to keep everything clean. I hope to have the box finished this week so I can connect the motors and begin programming the interface to LinuxCNC. I appreciate this community and all of the feedback and advice it provides. If this is too much hardware related and not enough LinuxCNC related and needs to deleted I understand.