CNC Lathe

More
08 Sep 2021 10:52 #219923 by backyardengineer
CNC Lathe was created by backyardengineer
Hi, 
im new to this forum, so a short introduction: My name is Marc, i am a mechanical engineering student from germany and as a hobby i am involved in all sorts of machining, 3d printing electrical work etc. I guess the cool kids would call it "making". I would now like to convert my freshly rebuilt Lathe to (Linux) CNC. However i am a bit overwhelmed by the hardware choices, maybe you can give some advice. What i am planning to do:
- Close loop with stepper motors and linear scales on z and x
- 2 hand wheel encoders for semi-manual operation + spindle encoder
- I have a VFD for the spindle (danfoss)
- one extra stepper for the spindle -> normally not connected to the spindle, if i want to do very precise spindle positioning
- Old pc and touch screen for the control
- some manual programmable switches would be nice
My main concerns are:
- spindle encoder -> should be high resolution for threading/positioning. How would this perform at high rpms ? would it make sense to use two encoders, a crude one for high rpm and the fine one for positioning ? 
- Interfacing of the glass scales ( i have some electronics experience, so getting a pulse signal out of them should not be the problem)

It would be nice to keep it somewhat cheap eg. keep the encoders in a range where i don´t need extra interfaces to read them out etc.
My guess would be simple stepper drivers (DM556 ?) + some sort of breakout board <- here i don´t know what to pick.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Sep 2021 10:53 #219924 by backyardengineer
Replied by backyardengineer on topic CNC Lathe
PS: with close loop i mean between the stepper and the glass scales, not within the stepper

More
08 Sep 2021 13:03 #219939 by AlekseySP
Replied by AlekseySP on topic CNC Lathe