Jittery stepper pulses with mesa 7i76E [SOLVED]

More
08 Jul 2022 13:21 - 09 Jul 2022 06:14 #246860 by paw
Hi, I'm new to Linuxcnc, but have made cnc machines with other software/boards.
I've recently done a cnc conversion on a small manual lathe using open loop stepper motors and a mesa 7i76E board, and the configuration has been really very slick with pnconf.
However, the stepper movements are rather rough/scratchy and slightly noisy. The movements are very smooth with pulses from a signal generator, but looking at the pulse output from the mesa board on a 'scope there appears to be quite a lot of jitter in the output causing the rough movement.

I'm using a dedicated PC, which is an HP Proliant microserver. 
I've got the base thread latency below 50usec, after disabling stuff in the bios, and I am using a 1ms servo thread.
The PC has a Broadcom BCM5723 network card.
uname -a reports:
Linux cnclathe 4.19.0-17-rt-amd64 #1 SMP PREEMPT RT Debian 4.19.194-2 (2021-06-21) x86_64 GNU/Linux

If I reduce the servo thread to 500usec, the movements are much smoother, but I get some realtime delay errors, I suppose not surprisingly. A servo thread of 2ms seemed to make it worse.

The network card seems to use IRQ coalescing of 20usec, according to ethtool, and although it isn't an Intel card I tried setting it to zero. In fact it wouldn't support less than 1, and 1 made no difference.

If I ping the mesa board I get times of:
min 0.16ms, avg 0.201ms, max 0.34ms, mdev 0.026ms. I'm not sure how good/bad those figures are.

As I understand it, dpll is enabled on the mesa board by default, but I tried toggling the setting in halcmd to be sure.

I'm not sure what to try now, so any help would be very appreciated, please 
Many thanks
Phil

Histogram attached

Attachments:
Last edit: 09 Jul 2022 06:14 by paw. Reason: marked solved

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Jul 2022 15:35 #246870 by PCW