5i25+7i76 wired pendant help please

More
24 Oct 2017 20:33 #100758 by Toolman321
Hello I have the I/0 boards 5i25 and 7i76. So far I managed to wire up a stepper drive and get it to move. I’ve no other experience with linuxcnc or Mesa cards.

I recently bought an mpg pendant which is a 100ppr pulse generator with two switches, one for axis select x y z a and one for increments.

I would like to connect the mpg to the 7i76 and make it work but I don’t know how to do that and your help will be much appreciated.

Many thanks
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Oct 2017 00:20 #100768 by andypugh
You probably want to use an mpg encoder on the 7i76 rather than the spindle encoder. To do that you need to set the 7i76 to mpg mode. This converts some of the GPIO pins to encoder inputs.
Page 18 here: www.mesanet.com/pdf/parallel/7i76man.pdf
Note that these are single-ended encoders, so I think you just ignore the /A and /B pins.
To set the 7i76 to MPG mode change the "loadrt hm2_pci" line in the HAL file to include config="sserial_port_0=20xxxxxx"
(keep anything else that already exists in that config string)
Then you should see hm2_5i35.0.7i76.enc0 and enc1 which should increment as you turn the knob.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Toolman321

More
25 Oct 2017 20:04 #100811 by rodw
Once you get it enabled, there is a worked example of a single axis MPG for a 7i76e on my build thread
forum.linuxcnc.org/show-your-stuff/32029...tter-build?start=200
You just need to add the axis selection switch to this which is not difficult and there is a good example in the MPG docs.
linuxcnc.org/docs/html/examples/mpg.html

More
26 Oct 2017 20:21 #100851 by Toolman321
‘Then you should see hm2_5i35.0.7i76.enc0 and enc1 which should increment as you turn the knob.’

I think I’ve changed to mode 2 and I’ve been back through the pncconf wizard and it all looks the same to me?