Unity3D User Interface

More
16 Mar 2020 20:07 #160467 by artsev
Hello everyone

I'm working on big CNC machine right now and I want build control system on linuxcnc, but I want special user interface with high interactivity and special features relative to machine behavior. I start reading linuxcnc documentation because of I', noob here. I'm reading documentation about custom UI, and what I undertand at this moment:
Python interface it's new approach for UI command level building, but I have gap in knowledge how to build visual drawing of curves of g-code operations, because I can't find any commands for getting array of points and current interpolation.

I have idea creating UI on Unity3D game engine (C#) and native plugins on C++ (integration point).

Where can I read about this operation planner for UI developers?

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Mar 2020 08:34 #160521 by artsev
Replied by artsev on topic Unity3D User Interface
I found this:
wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Simple_Tp_Notes
looks very interesting ...

I will try to build concept design and show screen or videos what I have.

More
17 Mar 2020 08:38 #160522 by cmorley
Replied by cmorley on topic Unity3D User Interface
I think you are asking how the linuxcnc's UI creates graphics display from Gcode.

github.com/LinuxCNC/linuxcnc/blob/master...ensions/emcmodule.cc

pyPositionLogger()
reads position/gcode and converts them to openGL drawing commands.
after that code here:
github.com/LinuxCNC/linuxcnc/tree/master/lib/python/rs274
is the library used to display the code.
Gremlin here:
github.com/LinuxCNC/linuxcnc/tree/master...emc/usr_intf/gremlin
is an example of actual display

There is more to it but I'm not sure I am right about what you are asking.
The following user(s) said Thank You: thefabricator03

More
17 Mar 2020 13:31 - 17 Mar 2020 13:34 #160556 by artsev
Thank you, it's what I want ...