What Do I Need for ESTOP and Safety Circuitry?

More
05 Aug 2023 23:09 #277067 by Lethal69GTO
Novice here with zero knowledge and experience of industrial control, please forgive the lengthy post.  I have read and searched numerous threads here as well as YouTube videos to ad nauseam and been at it since 0430 this morning with only frustration to show for it.  Here is my setup of a DIY PrintNC machine:
  • "Axis" 3-axis configuration, X, Y1, Y2, Z.
  • Mesa 7i76E.
  • 120VAC 2.2kW water-cooled spindle (Z-mounted, but not connected to VFD).
  • Huanyang VFD (powers up).
  • PNP proximity sensors at both ends of X, Y1, and Y2.  Z only has software limits defined.
    • Prox sensors wired to 3-wire PLC input module, 6-way sensor terminal block with the signals wired to Mesa digital-in.  HAL "sees" the states of the prox sensors which appropriately change when triggered.  Home and min/max limits have not been defined - yet.  That is for another day.  At the moment only software limits defined for all axis.
  • Main multi-branch power circuit enters emergency "oh sh*t" paddle switch mounted to the enclosure, much like a table saw or router table.  Pushing the paddle terminates power to the entire enclosure, everything turns off - motion and control.
  • From paddle switch, multi-branch main power circuit enters enclosure to door mounted two-position lock-out type main power rotary switch. One branch is power for typical 2-button 120VAC 24VDC coil contactor holding circuit, attached to it is all motion (VFD and D542 drivers).  Power to motion side can be killed entirely as expected with the holding circuit being turned "off".  The other phase provides power to the control side (Mesa, exhaust fan, and other peripheries).  The control side power is turned off when the main power rotary switch is turned off.