EtherCAT Communication Issues, Lost Frames, Interruptions in Program Execution

More
29 Aug 2024 10:41 #308924 by stenly
Hello everyone,

this will most probably turn out to be a rather long write and it is my first time posting here so please bear with me. I would say I am a beginner with LinuxCNC, despite being quite the general GNU/Linux nerd but I have done a lot of reading on the forum and the docs in the past month.

I have "inherited" so to say the machine from the person who wrote this post . The backstory is in there if you need any more context.

In short, I am still sort of stuck at the same problem the colleague before me couldn't resolve, namely the machine (servos, spindle and IO) being inconsistent with its EtherCAT connection (I assume). The first sign was that initially it was basically a coin flip as to whether the .ini program would even start. Most times it exited with an error about the Master PDOs not being correct and dmesg would report some random pin (that was defined in the xml) not being present. Different LAN cables were tried, but that didn't help so I was initially worried the IO was busted, but I pushed on and managed to drastically improve this problem in particular. I discovered that the OS was trying to establish an Ethernet connection over the LAN cable which to my understanding can definitely disturb EtherCAT communications. I made sure to disable that which allowed me to basically launch the .ini with certainty. It is still not perfect, since sometimes after a reboot I need to restart the EtherCAT driver with ethercatctl restart and/or replug the cable but after that there are no issues with this until the next reboot at least.