unbuntu lucid nativecam install

More
10 Jul 2019 21:58 #139028 by okiejim
OK, I am not good at computers. That said I need help.
I have been reading all I can about installing NativeCam. I see others saying they got it going but not seeing what they exactly did to get if going. Just what they did to fix it. I can get a screen up by typing python ncam.py after several error and ok's. When I try to do the embedded commands in the readme file it says no command found ncam and does not add the tab. I added a tab with an embeded_command. But it says the ncam.ui file can't run as there is no QT_Designer to run it? I probable have a mess now on my machine as I have tried the commands in several different directories trying to get a tab in linuxcnc. I have a ini file that I use always that has a probe_screen tab and an add on touch_probe button I got off the internet from rob suber I think it was. I have tried to use the debian iso but my machine seems to not like it. it has to do with the video drive I believe. Any way, am I too out dated to use NativeCam do I need a different computer to put Debian on? Sorry for the long drag out but I wanted to explain myself first. Thank you for reading. I if your laughing good I love to make people laugh.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Jul 2019 22:30 - 10 Jul 2019 22:58 #139030 by Grotius
@Jim,

Welcome to the LinuxCNC forum !!

Before you go investegating.... See the video of the founder of linux, Linus from a to z on a lazy sunday....

Student's can ask him question's. He is very a fair man. Sometimes i take up for him related to the Gpl3 licence.

I will try to merge your request's in a list :

Problem :
1. How to do a NativeCam installation..
2. Do i need a Debian installation?

Solution :

1. I think when user's read point 1. They can give you the link or how to do it.