Inkscape PlasmaC g-code generation

More
13 Oct 2020 06:47 #185926 by radek_marko
Hi,
I'm a total newbie in the whole CNC subject - I've built CNC bed, I've attached plasma torch to it, I can do test cuts in X and Y axis from PlasmaC GUI and now I'm trying to move to cut a project created in Inkscape (v1.0.1).

I've generated a simple text, processed the text outline so letters like "O" will not fall from the rest of the cut. Then I've generated the g-code. I've checked it in one of the on-line g-code viewers and discovered that LinuxCNC cannot accept it :(

Is there a g-code validator for PlasmaC that will tell me what commands are allowed and what are not?

G-code attached

File Attachment:

File Name: Testgcode_0001.ngc
File Size:75 KB
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Oct 2020 06:59 #185928 by tommylight
In Inkscape when the drawing is finished go to extensions>gcodetools>tools library, choose plasma and click apply then close, now select that green window and select the text tool, edit the green window by removing lines with G31, G92, Z anything, leave just the lines with feed, tool, M3 and M5.
After that do the usual extensions>gcodetools>path to gcode.
In the folder where the gcode will be saved create a new empty file and name it "header", save it. That will get rid of the first M3 at the top of the gcode so it does not mess up the material.

More
13 Oct 2020 09:01 #185950 by radek_marko
Thank you. I did those modes and generated new code - I will be able to test it in the afternoon.

I have a floating Z sensor - do I need to add special code for that or M3 code will take care of the lowering the torch and firing it when required?

More
13 Oct 2020 10:28 #185960 by tommylight
M3 will do everything, might also need an S nnn where nnn is some number, depending on how your config is set up, but usually it does work with just M3

More
13 Oct 2020 19:12 #186011 by radek_marko