QTPlasmaC, first cut ever. What to do after "initial setup"?

More
23 Aug 2021 19:21 - 23 Aug 2021 19:28 #218539 by fernandosf
This would be a easy one for you guys, I just lost 2 days trying to make it work.

I have set Z axis like this:

I have this PARAMETERS tab:

Initial setup (probe-test) runs ok. My torch sits 3 mm above material.
Documentation says: "CONGRATULATIONS! you should now have a working QtPlasmaC Configuration."

At this point, I loaded GCODE file metric_wrench.ngc and set G54 for X and Y, screen looks like this:

When I CICLE_START, I got the error:  "pierce height would exceed Z axis maximum safe height, condition found while float switch probing"
I have made a video:

I am sure, as a newbie, I am missing something.  Could not find directions (looking at docs)  of the correct workflow after initial setup.

I don't understand how pierce height (which is 3 mm) would  exceed safe height which is 20mm , if both are measured from the same level.

Safe height can be set from 1 to 74, and I tried lots of values without success.

Thanks,

Attachments:
Last edit: 23 Aug 2021 19:28 by fernandosf. Reason: wrong attachments pointers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 Aug 2021 20:42 - 23 Aug 2021 20:44 #218547 by billykid
I see Z-74 the zero must be made at the lowest point that the torch reaches by pressing the zero next to the dro z .. at least I did so after having troubled a few hours.
since it uses g53 you have to do home for that too
Last edit: 23 Aug 2021 20:44 by billykid.

More
23 Aug 2021 21:12 - 23 Aug 2021 21:13 #218550 by fernandosf
I have followed "initial setup" instructions where it tells to take Z to minimum (-74) and touch-off.

You can see in the pic that my home position is 69 at G54 ( which is -5 in G53) so that when torch is at G54 Z0 it is at G53 Z-74
Last edit: 23 Aug 2021 21:13 by fernandosf. Reason: misspelling

More
23 Aug 2021 21:23 #218552 by billykid