RB1-CNC Retrofit

More
17 May 2015 19:54 #58789 by LearningLinuxCNC
Hello everyone. I am going to retrofit the cnc controls on my Sieber Hegner RB1-CNC machine. I will give you a little background on the entire project then I intend to use this thread to document the retrofit process hoping it may help someone looking to do a similar project in the future.

Background:

First off I am a mechanical engineer and I have some experience with CNC. 4 years ago I built a CNC router that runs on Mach 3 off the paralell port. I also have some experience with electronics. I have made several projects based on Arduino and I have worked on ultrasound probes for neurosurgery and plant instrumentation etc. in my career.

Enough about me, lets move on to the machine. The machine that I am retrofitting is a 3 axis milling machine. It is a bed mill with a counterweighted z axis. It currently has the original General Numeric (Fanuc/Siemens) control system installed. I purchased the machine about 1 month ago. Prior to purchasing it I was able to test several things on the machine to see if it was usable in its current form. I was able to move all of the axis, run a simple program that was already on the controller, start and stop the spindle and coolant pump. The issue came when I was trying to transfer data to the Fanuc controller. I had serial communication out of the controller but I could not send data to the controller.