LinuxCnc with Copley controls-Stepnet ST3-055-04?

More
18 Sep 2012 00:50 #24344 by varun0421
I have a 3-axis stage which is driven by a Stepnet ST3-055-04. (I have attached the link below for the .pdf with the specifications of the driver.)
I wanted to know if i could make linuxcnc work with the 3-axis stage? Will it be able to interact with the stage given the specifications of the driver?
I basically plan to use the stage as a CNC machine by controlling its movements through codes generated by Pycam.
I have a separate stationary high speed spindle mounted with a tool which will help in the machining process.

I am a complete novice with linuxcnc. Please forgive me if i have not given you clear information.
Eagerly looking forward to any help i can get on this.

Link for the specification page for Stepnet ST3-055-04

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Sep 2012 06:22 #24349 by cncbasher
the short answer is yes ... Linuxcnc can drive the copley controls , you have the option of a number of ways , using the step / direction inputs or the analog 0 - 10v
the specific protocols such as can open etc are not supported .

can you give more details on the machine and are you using stepper motors or servo motors with encoders etc , we can then advise further on the options required to interface to linuxcnc
also details on your high speed spindle controller you are looking at using would be helpful

More
18 Sep 2012 09:10 #24353 by andypugh
It looks like you can configure the digital inputs to be step/dir commands, so that part looks promising.

it is odd that there is a mention of hall sensors and brushless motors when the drive doesn't have enough motor terminals to drive a brushless motor. It appears to be stepper-motor only.

More
18 Sep 2012 19:20 #24389 by varun0421
Thank you for replying so quickly.

The stage is driven by stepper motors.