Proper methods for a lathe tool changer?

More
10 Apr 2016 18:54 - 10 Apr 2016 18:56 #73065 by Fastest1
I am very new to LinuxCnc. I had quite a bit of experience in Mach3. There is no similarity between the 2 that I can see. Just different.

Presently I have LCNC version 2.7.4 installed and connected via parallel port to a Dyna Mechtronics DM3000 with a 6 position turret tool changer.
I have control of X and Z,. Limits and homing are working as intended. My spindle is operable and accurate to within a few rpm's with no index sensor so far. That was all pretty easy to set up and was similar to Mach.

I am not sure of exactly how to obtain or set up control of the 3rd axis (tool changer). It appears I might have to use Gmoccapy and or Glade to customize my GUI. If this is the case. Is the macro that I used in Mach able to be used with LCNC? It would seem the commands and GCode would be the same. Is there an advantage to using Glade or Gmoccapy? Is one safer?
Last edit: 10 Apr 2016 18:56 by Fastest1.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Apr 2016 20:13 #73074 by BigJohnT
I used Classicladder to handle the tool change on my Harding CHNC.
gnipsel.com/shop/hardinge/hardinge.xhtml

JT

More
11 Apr 2016 14:42 #73107 by andypugh

I am not sure of exactly how to obtain or set up control of the 3rd axis (tool changer). It appears I might have to use Gmoccapy and or Glade to customize my GUI. If this is the case. Is the macro that I used in Mach able to be used with LCNC? It would seem the commands and GCode would be the same. Is there an advantage to using Glade or Gmoccapy? Is one safer?

It is hard to know how to control the tool changer without a little more information on the tool changer hardware and how it is configured.

Is it configured as a G-code controlled axis, or as a separate motor? How does the changer report-back carousel position?

More
11 Apr 2016 16:07 #73120 by Fastest1