OKK MCH630-II Retrofit - Possible for a newb?

More
13 Jul 2016 10:10 #77377 by Utry2win
Ok, first of all, I am completely green. I am not familiar with ladder logic, I have basic understanding of CNC motion controls, and not in any way familiar with Linux. With all that said. I have a OKK Horizontal machining center with some serious control issues. The machine is circa 1992 and I want away from this Mitsubishi control. Ideally I would love to retrofit this machine, and so far, I really like the idea of Linux CNC. Features of the machine I am concerned with working.

- Full 4-axis movement
- IBAG spindle replacement done in 2004
- Automatic Tool Changer (160 tool, fairly complex changer)
- Pallet Changer
- Machine has Encoders on the motors as well as glass scales for feedback
- Renishaw Probe System (if this did not work, it would not at all be a deal breaker)
- I would really like a remote MPG pendant similar to the XHC HB04

Do you think that a complete newb would (in time, say a few months) be able to get a functioning machine? We are not above paying someone to come in and retrofit the machine either, but I have not found anyone in the business of retrofitting with LinuxCNC yet.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jul 2016 10:36 #77378 by BigJohnT
We all start as newb's well except for a few lol.

For larger machines the Mesa 50 pin cards make more sense as you can have an enormous amount of options. Start with a 5i24 or 7i80HD then you can add a 7i44 to really expand the I/O. The 7i73 Pendant Card plugs into the 7i44 and a 7i48 Analog servo interface.

Sam retrofitted his Matsuura Mc 500v in this thread and he has an excellent diagram of the cards he used.
computer -> Ethernet -> 7i80 -> 7i48
                          V
                          V  ->  24 port opto22 board
                          V
                          V  ->  7i44 -> 7i73
                                   V