Urgent help required with EMC please

More
11 Aug 2016 09:35 #78599 by sxyuklad
Hello everyone,

This is my first post here. In fact to any forum. I really expect someone will be up to help me with the situation I am stuck in. Anyone with good knowledge of EMC as well as Mach3.

I have an EMCO compact 5 pc lathe retrofitted to Mach3. With all the electronics replaced and even the steppers too. It is works great till I want to do threading. For about 1 inch the threads are fine then mach3 loses timing and ruins the threads. I believe Mach3 is not as good as EMC when it comes to threading because Mach only uses 1ppr while EMC use phase A too very convenient.

I have zero knowledge of Linux operating system or EMC. I have been trying to collect bits and pieces from Wiki and forums, the documentations but everything is going top of my head.

I simply want to run my lathe with EMC now rather than Mach3.

Can anyone with good knowledge of both of these softwares please please please be up for helping me out.

I will further post once anyone is up. Basically, someone needs to guide me to have same setup of sindle and spindle encoder as I am running it with Mach3 plus phase A signal as additional with EMC. Secondly, I can post my vb macro for ATC here too and someone please help me convert the same coding to EMC. I have zero knowledge what is hal and components and all that. In mach3, I just wrote a vb script and put in macro folder and it runs whenever I call an M6 command. It is pretty easy but EMC is so different.

I am keeping my eyes open, as soon as someone is up, I can post further.

Thank you and help is so badly required and I will be so thankful and grateful.

Bilal

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Aug 2016 11:50 #78603 by andypugh
As a first step you should be able to import the Mach3 configuration (XML file) directly into the LinuxCNC "Stepconf" configuration wizard.

Have you got as far as installing LinuxCNC on a PC yet?