Manual tool change problem

More
23 Aug 2018 10:43 #116479 by derekmac
Hello - just started using AXIS GUI 2.7.14 on my Taig mill and am running into a tool change problem. I have specified the tool length in the tool file and expect it to get added to the Z-axis on the display DRO on tool change which it does instantly (no time to move the Z-axis to match). The problem is that it is not moving the actual hardware, but thinks it has. This results in the tool being in the wrong place - BAD news. Is this a known problem or am I doing something wrong?
Cheers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
More
23 Aug 2018 16:25 #116492 by derekmac
Replied by derekmac on topic Manual tool change problem
Hello - perhaps I should point out that I am not a novice at using my CNC tools, merely a novice at using the LinuxCNC AXIS GUI. I have a Taig mill and an old HobbyMAT lathe that I converted to CNC using Taig parts about 15 years ago. Initially I was using the Taig control software under MS-DOS, then briefly Mach3 under Windows XP, now I have moved on to Linux. Inicidentally I installed ran and developed software for the 2nd commercial Unix system in the UK back in 1980. The tools are ones I have been using for over a decade with all the offsets set up as in previous systems. My problem is that the AXIS GUI is not moving tools to where I expect. In fact it is moving them to very silly positions - so far I have only been moving the lathe axes under AXIS control - no tools or materials in use yet, but it is obvious that the mill would be doing serious damage to itself if a tool were fitted & running.
Cheers

More
23 Aug 2018 17:09 - 23 Aug 2018 17:10 #116496 by Todd Zuercher
My understanding of how it is supposed to work, is that a tool offset isn't actually physically applied until the first actual machine movement commanded after the G43 is issued.
so if you have code like this.
[code]
G90
G43H1
G0Z1.0
[code/]