Which UI?

More
02 Jul 2022 19:46 #246459 by XYZgnomon
Which UI? was created by XYZgnomon
I use a Hermle C42U with a Heidenhain control at work, and it runs on XFCE Linux. Otherwise, I have little hands-on experience with Linux at all.

At home, I recently got an Avid Benchtop Pro CNC router, and I purposely did not include any electronics whatsoever in my order. Over the last few months, I have been trialing demo versions of various software controllers that run on Windows, and literally all of them are UI nightmares. Mach4 at least lets you edit the UI pretty deep, but I don't know that I would be happy with it until I have spent hundreds or even thousands of hours on it. The most disappointing thing is the virtual ghost town forums for these products, if one even exists at all. The fanboys are pretty thick, in more ways than one.

So here I am, considering LinuxCNC. I don't currently have a computer that runs Linux, so I have to rely on what I see on the internet. Directly searching for users' experiences on places like YouTube are not productive at all, but I want to see all of the different UI options for LinuxCNC IN DETAIL so I can make a value judgment about whether to go down this path. Barring that, I would consider even building a UI from scratch if I even knew where to start. I just need to see examples and it's been hard tracking them down. I'm looking for advice and LINKS!

I have a fair number of non-negotiables that make this a challenge:

1) Surface speed DRO
2) Feed per tooth DRO (requires flute count)
3) Simultaneous display of machine position, WCS position & distance to go
4) NO GRAPH
5) Touch optimized interface

Is there an existing UI that is capable of these? If not, can they be modified? If so, how?
The following user(s) said Thank You: gernoff

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Jul 2022 20:22 #246464 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic Which UI?