First Configuration try-Dead Machine

More
24 Feb 2012 17:56 #18032 by ohioflyer
Hello to everyone here,

Let me start by saying that I am brand new to CNC, I'm trying to wrap my head around the way everything works, but the learning curve is steep. Let me also say that I have already searched the forum for a solution to my problem and I am not seeing it. It may be because I don't know enough to recognize it, so please forgive my level of ignorance, I am trying.

Ok, I have just completed a Joe's 2006 R2 three axis machine. I purchased a Keling three axis kit for it, consisting of a 9Amp PS, 3 425 in-oz steppers, 3 4030 drivers and a C10 bob.

The steppers are wired in bipolar Parallel, and the drivers are set to 1/4 step, at 3 Amps.

I have limit switches wired in series and wired in terminal 13 as per plans.

I have the E-stop wired to terminal 10 as per plans.

No home switches yet

I have the master enable switch wired to the EN terminal as per plas.

The steppers are all wired to terminal 2-7 as per plans.

My C10, and all three drivers give me solid red LED's, and the PS a solid Green.

I have not changed any jumpers from their factory settings on the C10, Pins 2-9 are set to output, Pull Down, Com=Grnd, ouptputs= pull down

I just installed EMC2 v2.4.3

I ran the Stepconf wizard , and when I try to test the axis I get no movement at all, on any of them, completely dead. I rechecked all of my wiring and it checks out, no crossed wires. When I ran the latency test it showed the max interval for base thread to be 29500, but the stepconf says the minimum is 30000, so I entered that.

Initially I configured the pins:

1-unused
2-x step
3-x dir
4-y step
5- y dir
6- z step
7- z- dir
8- unused
9- unused
10- e stop in
11- unused
12- unused
13- all limits
14- unused
15- unused
16- unused
17-unused