Custom EtherCAT device

More
19 May 2023 17:47 #271682 by Tady
Custom EtherCAT device was created by Tady
Hello everyone
For hobby purposes I made two EtherCAT salve devices that are built around the LAN9252 and STM32.
The slaves work great in TwinCAT. They make some dummy data and I can toggle some LEDs on the board.
I have a custom XML that describe the slaves but now I would like to know how to create the XML file that LinuxCNC EtherCAT driver needs
How can I make it? Can I use TwinCAT and export the project? 
I'm  a total beginner in EtherCAT so any help is appreciated 
Thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 May 2023 20:02 #271690 by rodw
Replied by rodw on topic Custom EtherCAT device
Thats pretty cool.
Here is an example config for a I/O module without docs
github.com/rodw-au/linuxcnc-cia402/blob/...ercat-conf-diewu.xml
if you type Ethercat slaves and then Ethercat pdos
You should have all the info you need to make a custom xml file for linuxcnc
That's how we created this one

When can I order a version that has an encoder input ? :)
The following user(s) said Thank You: besriworld, Tady

More
19 May 2023 20:09 #271691 by Tady
Replied by Tady on topic Custom EtherCAT device
Are these XML files created by hand or are they exported from a program ( like TwinCAT)?
I based my project from this... I made two of these boards and they work, but the firmware is not from this repo.
github.com/DieBieEngineering/DieBieSlave
Hehe... you need slaves that support encoder input only?
That should not be a problem. The challenge is making one of these boards. This really pushed my limits. Those 0.4x0.2mm caps and resistors really take A LOT of concentration and percision to solder. You really need a heat bed for reflow soldering, flox, solder paste. It took me 10 hours to make one :)
Maybe we need a different design that uses 0805 size resistors and caps :)
The following user(s) said Thank You: besriworld

More