THC Controller Polabs.com - PlasmaSensOut on LinuxCNC v2.8 connection

More
15 Aug 2020 19:49 #178319 by hermann1976
Dear LinuxCNC Forum,

I'm a beginner in LinuxCNC and I have a problem.

I am in the process of building a plasma machine and have converted a basic machine into a plasma machine with the Plasmac Configutator.
So far everything has worked.
With ARC Ok and THC I use mode 2.
With the THC up or down connection, I connected 7i76e.0.encoder.00.input-a and 7i76e.0.encoder.00.input-b to the encoder input for up and down movement.
THC worked well. When the cutting voltage changed, the Z axis moved up or down during the cutting process.

During the final assembly, I changed the cable routing for the ground connection of the thc controller and then accidentally took the 24V + connection instead of ground. (stupidly....)
Unfortunately the hardware encoder chip is broken.
But everything else works fine.

My question to you is: is it possible to use a different connection for the THC up and down command?

A repair request is already out.
Repair Request

I still had one mor problem (before the mistake): The THC Active LED did not light up. Though THC worked up and down.
Does this have to do with the middle port on the THC controller? How should this be connected? (No. 2 Arc OK signal?)

I ask you for help with my problem.
Many thanks
(Answers could be also in German)
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Aug 2020 20:40 #178323 by tommylight
That type of THC does not go to encoder inputs, they are to be wired to normal inputs, or in your case they should be wired to normal inputs on the 7i76. Where did you get the idea of wiring it to the encoder inputs? I would like to know so we can avoid further miss information.
You can use any of the 32 inputs on the 7i76E, TB5 from pin 1 to pin 16 and TB6 from pin 1 to pin 16, for the up/down and arcok, you need to have arcok connected, it will not work without it.

More