Probe Basic Rack based ATC

More
02 Jul 2022 00:15 #246401 by P1-Engineering
Anyone here have experience with incorporating a rack based ATC instead of the standard carousel?. 

On my current CNC controller, EdingCNC, I have a fully operational ATC macro for my dual row, sliding rack, ATC. 

This is written in standard G-code and has various subroutines. 
It also uses a list of variables to store the X,Y,Z positions for all the toolpockets. 

Is this something which can be easily converted to work with ProbeBasic?. 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Jul 2022 16:58 #246453 by spumco
Replied by spumco on topic Probe Basic Rack based ATC
Warning - I'm not a developer, and I don't know much beyond the basics of LCNC.  That said, if you don't understand any of the jargon below please say so and I'll try to clarify. A big problem for newcomers to LinuxCNC is the jargon-language barrier.

There isn't a current branch of Probe Basic which is pre-configured for a rack/linear ATC.  There are two old (2yrs) branches on github named Linear_ATC_Branch and LinearATC_REZ that appear to be the start of what you're looking for.

I think what you're after is do-able, but the issue is that an ATC implementation for Probe Basic is more complicated than other GUIs.  The screen animation adds another layer of complexity as an ATC sequence requires:
  • You command something to happen through the user interface
  • User interface then
    • Responds to command, and
    • Passes command to LinuxCNC
  • LinuxCNC
    • Responds to command, and
    • Passes updated info to user interface
  • User interface responds to updated info
For some other GUI with no fancy animation the only thing that needs to happen is maybe update a simple numerical display (DRO) with the new tool number.
For Probe Basic, "responds to command" or "responds to info" requires some internal logic for the animation/display to work.