Zenford Zeigler Retrofit

More
12 May 2018 12:54 #110598 by snoozer77
Hi All,

I have recently purchased 1985 Zenford Zeigler CNC milling machine with 24 tool carousel changer. This machine is an Australian built machine, fitted with an early ANCA 2000 controller, also Oz made.

The Anca controller is well and truly past its used by date, But im hoping to bring the machine back to life with Linuxcnc.

After talking to another ozzy who was also retrofitting a zenford machine (Thanks for the advise Russell), he has recommended using mesa hardware with the original servo's, drives etc.

I have been looking through allot of forums here for the last month or so, trying to get a grasp of the hardware, testing, homework etc, i will need to do before tackling this retofit.

Im a machinist with some electrical experience, but this will be the first time tackling a cnc retrofit like this. (i do have a small hobby cnc router running GRBL, steppers etc that i enjoy tinkering with)

I do have allot of electrical info about this machine. Elec drawings, Owners manual, spindle drive manual and a printout of the original controllers plc ladder type program.

Im looking to use the original brushed DC servo's and drives (all axis's and spindle), these include tacho feedback to drive and resolver feedback to control. Drive inputs are analogue +/- 10v, Relays are 24v.

looking for recommendations on mesa cards for my build.

Was looking at 5i24, 7i49, 7i44, 7i84

was also looking at 2 x 7i29's servo drives (in case of the originals failing in the future). Would they be compatable with the other components in the system? As i would initially like to get the machine running as basic as possible (no tool change, original drives), then add tool change, install new drives when i get a bit more experience and confidence.

Im able to post drawings and collect info as required.

Any info, suggestions or advise would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Matt
Attachments: