Gcode sharing folder ( Debian / Windows 7)

More
08 Apr 2018 03:00 #108589 by papaours
How can i do to not use a USB key to transfert Gcode from windows CAM software to Linuxcnc ( debian Wheezi )

I am not good at all with Linux command but i can copy/past.
Debian wont let me do anything with "SUDO" and force me to use "SU"
I already failed trying to install Dropbox or configure Samba.

Thank you for Helping me.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Apr 2018 07:16 #108591 by InMyDarkestHour
Samba is easy to configure, there are some great tutorials around.

Or you can use scp as described here:

www.garron.me/en/articles/scp.html#windows

There is nothing hard about using the command line, it just takes a bit of time to get used to it, eventually you will need to use it one day.

More
08 Apr 2018 14:14 #108602 by Todd Zuercher
I load and run files directly from a network server, a reasy-nas share.

More
08 Apr 2018 21:21 #108626 by rodw

I load and run files directly from a network server, a reasy-nas share.

Me too, except I use Synology. I just made a new user on the NAS with the same credentials as my LinuxCNC box uses so it gets its own home folder.

More
09 Apr 2018 19:13 - 09 Apr 2018 19:15 #108674 by papaours
Thank you for your answer.

After thinking of a 10000$ Sinumerik 828d retrofit, i finally call a friend who love plaiying with Linux terminal.

He dit it with teamviewer on my laptop wich was connected to the Cnc Pc trought "putty.exe"
We failed to install teamviewer on the Debian Wheezi.

At the end it was more easy to share folder from Linux to windows7 than the opposite, and Gmoccapy won't let me mount network drive so i will definitely go for a NAS solution. ( wich will not solve Gmoccapy network hiding )