General Help

More
29 Apr 2018 09:42 #109793 by tjd
General Help was created by tjd
Hi all,

I'm brand new to all this and am now pretty lost with where to start.

Here's what I've got so far...

Hurco 3 Axis KM3 cnc (old!)
Servo operated.
Mesa 5i25 + 7i77 cards

I've run the latency test and got an acceptable value for my Dell Optiplex 960
I've decided to go with AXIS for the user interface.
I've read the documentation about servos and mesa cards and even the HAL tutorial. - I can't say as I understand it all, but I've read it!

I've had a look through the PncConf utility but am now swamped as to where to begin.

Looking for a starting point here. I've got a machine with wires hanging out of it at one end and a computer with an interface board at the other. All help gratefully received. - Many thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Apr 2018 13:06 #109799 by Todd Zuercher
Replied by Todd Zuercher on topic General Help
Do you have a wiring schematic for the machine? You need to ID all those wires to know where to connect them.

More
29 Apr 2018 13:14 #109800 by tjd
Replied by tjd on topic General Help
Hi, thanks for such a prompt reply.

Right, well the CNC is using ServoMate AO-73187. I have some documentation for that (got it off this forum actually!) but it doesn't quite match my machine.
I've traced a lot of the cables and can identify points on the servomate that I will need to connect to.

More
29 Apr 2018 20:36 #109826 by tommylight
Replied by tommylight on topic General Help
Search for Hurco BMC20, i've done one already but had to change all the drives as they failed at random due to not being used for a long time.
If it is similar, i can help with it, i have some stuff written or drawn as i did not have all the documentation for it.

More
01 May 2018 21:36 #109949 by tjd
Thanks for the message, unfortunately the BMC20 doesn't seem to be very similar to my system.

More
01 May 2018 21:50 #109957 by tjd