15m Industrial Plasma Cutter

More
31 Jul 2019 16:07 #141013 by Jarman
Hello,

I'm new to this forum.

I am an engineering student doing an internship at an industrial boiler manufacturing company.
I have been asked to design and manufacture (from scratch) a 15m industrial CNC plasma cutter, cutting ~10mm Aluzinc used to clad boilers.

The design doesn't necessarily need to be as precise or fast as a commercial industrial CNC plasma cutter, however I am trying to keep the cost below £10,000 ($12,210). All welding etc. can be done in house.

I had the idea of using a cheap desktop to run LinuxCNC and program the automation of importing G code from CAD models, but I was hoping to get some advice from people with more experience in this area.

Is LinuxCNC suitable for an application like this?

Many thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
31 Jul 2019 17:27 #141017 by PCW
Replied by PCW on topic 15m Industrial Plasma Cutter
Absolutely LinuxCNC is suitable, _BUT_
I think the mechanics/cost/design issues of a 15M table are
going to be the problem not the controller choice...
The following user(s) said Thank You: Jarman

More
31 Jul 2019 18:01 #141020 by andypugh
I think that a bicycle chain Core-XY might be one way to do this, just because you can easily join bicycle chains end-to-end.
Rack and pinion also scales fairly easily.

I don't know if anyone has done a plasma "Skycam" yet, but that might work rather well with THC.

The latter idea is really growing on me :-)

You used £, where are you doing this?

More
31 Jul 2019 18:20 #141022 by tommylight
According to his IP he is in UK.
That is doable for sure, but you have to carefully follow some guidelines.