LinuxCNC embedded into automation machine

More
19 Feb 2020 09:59 #157822 by hhscott
Can LinuxCNC be operated "Headless" with the use of an API or custom Python interface? I am building a large automation machine that has several functions/stations. One of the stations is a CNC ultrasonic knife cutting system. I would like to utilize LinuxCNC to control the CNC knife (4 axis) while the main machine controls operate via a PLC and Touch screen interface. I have a lot of PLC experience and I also have traditional CNC experience (Mach3, not Linux). The challenge is getting the 2 systems to work together without the end user having to know anything about CNC operation. The machine will work off of recipes that the operator will select via the touch screen and the system runs from there. In a perfect scenario, the operator would select the product via the touch screen and then the PLC would load the appropriate G-code file into the CNC control software.

Could possible interface options include:

1. Digital inputs to trigger events in LinuxCNC? (homing, G-code file selection)

2. Python code interface?

Thanks,
HH

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Feb 2020 10:09 #157824 by tommylight
Given the versatility Linuxcnc offers and it's possibilities to modify it to suit almost anything, i would venture a guess that it is possible, but since i have not done that ever, i can not help much. There are more experienced users here that might shed some light as to how would that be possible.
I do remember reading here about something similar a while back, but could not find it.

More
19 Feb 2020 11:41 #157840 by rodw
Go through the docs and read up on NML messaging and the Python Interface.
My understanding is that Linuxcnc is controlled by NML messages (for interprocess communications) and there is a Python interface to them.
So yes its possible to send NML commands to say a web server interface and it would pass the massages on to Linuxcnc.