First Time Builder - Stuck

More
21 Jan 2020 20:59 #155360 by dzawacki
Hello,
I'm relatively new to the CNC world. I've dabbled a bit with a MaslowCNC but other than that I have no experience with them. However, I have a decent background in computers, some of which is with Linux systems.

I came across an old Dahlgren engraver at a price too good to pass on. The plan is to control the existing motors with DM542 drivers, a Mesa 7i96, and LinuxCNC.

All that being said, I'm absolutely baffled as to what I'm supposed to be doing to get this thing up and running. I'm now aware that the 7i96 complicates the issue, but I didn't do enough research before I bought the thing.

So far, I've installed a handful of different flavors of Linux and each of which has their own problems. Ultimately, I'd like to stick with a build of LinuxCNC, upgrade it to 2.8 (as I understand the 7i96 doesn't work on 2.7). Through reading many different posts on somewhat related situations, I've deduced the following:
When I follow the instructions on the buildbot page for upgrading to 2.8, I get to the final step
sudo apt-get install linuxcnc
and I'm told I already have the latest version.

Additionally, throughout my testing, I've tried skipping the upgrade to 2.8 and just installing the 7i96 Configuration Tool on a fresh install of 2.7 using these instructions: jethornton.github.io/7i96/install.html, but running the first command in the console, I get a "python3-pyqt5 not found" error and am unable to proceed.

I've been futzing with this on and off for a few weeks and I'm at the point where I know something is wrong, I just do not know what and where to find the solution. So if any of you wonderful people are able to point me in the right direction, it is much appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Jan 2020 22:02 #155363 by cmorley
Replied by cmorley on topic First Time Builder - Stuck