Hardinge HNC retrofit and where to start

More
10 Jul 2012 23:00 #21764 by bobinater
Hello all I am new to the site and forum, I have over the past few weeks been reading alot of the posts on the site and have finally been able to get signed up successfully, So here goes,
I have been working in the industry for approximately 10 years aand just bought an old cnc lathe (hardinge HNC) pics at a later date (need new dig camera) it has a GE numetronix control
that will not power up anything so I figure I would be just that far ahead if I retrofit the old girl. I have tons of questions so I will try not to be too long winded. My other machines include a Tree Journeyman 325
that works flawlessly, still using the dynapath control but is lacking in the memory department (working on drip feeding) also have a southbend magnaturn lathe ( building a phase converter for this one), any way I
would like to know what on the Hardinge is worth keeping and what should be sold or scrapped, should I use the existing spindle motor and clutch setup and whats the best way to check all of the axis motors
to make sure they are working . Chris Radek directed me to the group and said I would gain invaluable knowledge from all of you and I am very eager to see this lathe running and making chips, I would like any and all information wiring diagrams for retrofitting where to buy the hardware that I will be needing and some lessons probably on Linux itself. enough for now. thanks in advance to all of you are on this site I can hardly wait to get started

Bob

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Jul 2012 17:34 #21797 by BigJohnT